Jennifer Udden

Barry Goldblatt LIterary

Jennifer Udden

Barry Goldblatt LIterary
twitter-icon

Biography

I was born in Houston, TX, and spent many of my formative years hiding books under tables while I was meant to be paying attention to something else. I received a BA from Mount Holyoke College in 2008, graduating with a major in Politics, a minor in Chinese, and honors thesis work on anxiety in British detective fiction of the early 20th century.  My list today reflects the same wide range of interests. I am the founding co-host of the podcast Shipping & Handling (shippingandhandlingpodcast.com) with Bridget Smith of Dunham Literary, Inc, a monthly podcast discussing publishing, writing, reading, and fandom. I tweet occasionally at twitter.com/suddenlyjen and blog even less frequently at jenniferudden.wordpress.com

I represent a wide range of fiction for adults and young adults – this means 12+, so unfortunately, I’m not currently looking for middle grade. I am currently looking for:

-richly detailed contemporary fantasy like Ben Aaronovitch’s Rivers of London series

-speculative fiction that defies the imagination like Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach trilogy, China Mieville’s THE CITY AND THE CITY or THE LAST DAYS OF NEW PARIS, Connie Willis’ Oxford Time Travel universe, and my client Emma Newman’s PLANETFALL universe

-fantasy set in richly developed secondary worlds like NK Jemisin’s THE FIFTH SEASON, China Mieville’s THE SCAR, Robert Jackson Bennett’s CITY OF BLADES, Daniel Polansky’s LOW TOWN

-thrillers that keep me on the edge of my seat like IN A DARK, DARK WOOD by Ruth Ware and which bend reality in subtle ways, like THE WATER KNIFE by Paolo Bacigalupi

-sharp, funny, poignant YA fantasy like that by Sarah Rees Brennan, Renee Ahdieh, and Rae Carson

-contemporary YA that moves me and makes me think, like my client Marieke Nijkamp’s THIS IS WHERE IT ENDS, like Rainbow Rowell, like Julie Murphy

-scifi that feels as real as our own world, like my client Mur Lafferty’s SIX WAKES, the Cordelia bits of the Vorkosigan saga, James S.A. Corey’s THE EXPANSE series

-contemporary romance, both het and LGBT + (like my clients Anna Zabo and L.A. Witt), historical romance (also both het and LGBT, in the vein of Lorraine Heath or Cat Sebastian) and edgier romance in the vein of Charlotte Stein

-select literary and mainstream fiction, along the lines of Brit Bennet’s THE MOTHERS, John Darnielle’s WOLF IN WHITE VAN, and THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein.

All sessions by Jennifer Udden

Agent One-on-Ones

1:00 pm - 4:15 pm
The Farm SoHo